Nosedive phone and mi 11 lite

feeling peachy yet?

Josephine Livina
2 min readJul 4, 2021
nosedive phone (source: netflix), mi 11 lite in peach pink (source: mi.com)

Speaking of black mirror, I just realized that the new mi phone looks similar to the phone from the ‘Nosedive’ episode. It is one of the most iconic black mirror stories, elaborating on how wrong social media could be. Go watch it already if you haven’t, it definitely gives me a good scare.

I don’t want to read too deep into this and create a conspiracy, but it’s crazy how well black mirror read the fabric of our society. The similarity in the phone aesthetic shows that both phone have the same target market, social media slaves. (harsh word, but oh well)

Before realizing this, I considered changing my phone to the mi 11 lite phone, even watched quite a few youtube videos about it. I’m guilty of being a social media slave too, sue me. After some reflection, I realized that I’m not too different than the main character of the film, just lucky enough not to be born in that kind of situation.

Oh well, for now, I’m just grateful that my three-year-old smartphone (Redmi Note 5) had been successfully repaired. Now, I’m glad that my phone has a sucky battery life, not allowing me to scroll too much on Instagram because it simply can’t. The lame-ass IPS display also managed to make me appreciate youtube videos less.

No, I’m not turning to some caveman and rejecting all new tech altogether. I still want to save up money to buy the sony alpha camera, in case I can travel again in the future. I’m just saying, let’s be more intentional, critical, maybe throw some shades to the rich corporation that capable to make everyone blind for a sec.

--

--